Friday, April 29, 2011

Point Reyes Bound II

From my last ride over to Point Reyes National Seashore. I loved the greens and the shadows. Pam stopped the car without me asking to get this image. The light was amazing.





Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Genesis and Pritchard Road fini

This is where I currently am with this painting. Every time I post it I see something that needs correction. The painting in the background was the centerpiece of my Moms art collection. Of course its one of my paintings of Pritchard Road in Commerce. UPDATE: I showed this version to the model and she gave the painting her approval. Im calling it done.


Monday, April 25, 2011

Springs Arrival (plein air)

The second sketch completed in the gardens. I really wanted to work on this more but Pam said it was done. I respect her opinion and its done.

Sunday, April 24, 2011

Botanical Garden (plein air)

Last week we went over to the botanical gardens here in Austin. This was the first sketch. Its a little waterfall they created. Its part of the dinosaur exhibit (I think). I liked the new greens and the light on the water.

Friday, April 22, 2011

Little Joe's Interior

Inside the restaurant looking towards the final food prep area. The painting on the wall is an interior of Little City Coffee Shop.


Thursday, April 21, 2011

Saturday, April 16, 2011

This little image is from my days in Swampscott, Massachusetts. I spent many days in this little cove just enjoying the sound of the ocean and my insignificance.

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Cab Waiting

Simmering on the easel for now. A little toning down is in order with the purples and I need the shadows to be consistent.

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

The Unacknowledged 1 (fini)

I finally finished the background. Downtown San Francisco. I painted it because this man intrigued me. I was curious about his story and what led him to where he is. The figure in the background represents the observer.

Saturday, April 9, 2011

Thursday, April 7, 2011

Sketch Crawl

Patrons of Little City Cafe. I was working with markers and that made it easier to get the large shapes in fast. The lady with the bag took about a minute with the markers.

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

March First Pose Water

This weekend we will host our AVAA Life Drawing Show at Austin Art Space. I will have several pieces similar to this on display and available. The reception date is April 9, 2011 from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.